Transaction news post-lockout

There have been some transactions that I have missed lately.

Last Sunday, the Carolina Hurricanes traded away goalie Brian Boucher and prospect Mark Alt to Philadelphia for AHL forward Luke Pither. Trading Boucher was a good decision. He did not have a good tenure with Carolina; he ended up with a 1-6-1 record, .886 save percentage, and letting in around 4 goals a game. He also was injured for awhile. Dan Ellis, the new backup goalie for Cam Ward, has already proven himself to being a reliable safety net. Cam Ward had a horrible start to the first game of the season, letting in 4 early goals. Ellis came in at the start of the 2nd, and let in only 1 goal. The Hurricanes ended up losing 5-1. They weren’t the only team blown out, though, which was a relief to me; I felt less embarrassed.  The Red Wings lost 6-0 to the Blues; the Canucks lost 7-3 to the Ducks; and the Kings lost 5-2 to the Blackhawks.

Moving on, Anthony Stewart was traded by Carolina, along with 2 draft picks, to the Kings for Kevin Westgarth. I like this trade a lot. The ‘Canes need some toughness, and Westgarth can bring that. I hope to see him dressed vs the Lightning.

I’ve heard about the contract issues between PK Subban and the Montreal Canadiens. I think the Canadiens need Subban to compete for the playoffs. I’m not sure how that will end up. If Subban goes, though, I think that the Red Wings should try to sign him; they obviously need defense in their lineup. The loss of Lidstrom seemed to impact them more than I thought.

I’ll be keep track of most transactions.

Leave a Reply

